Author Topic: Official Rules -- Improved and Modified  (Read 5523 times)

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
« Last Edit: January 30, 2016, 09:45:01 PM by Den »
Humans can be gay.
Superman is superhuman.
Q.E.D. Superman can be supergay.

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
New Damage Results
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2009, 08:49:24 AM »
New Damage Results

Since M2010, the rules now officially have a section that explains how to handle damage as it is dealt, also known as damage results. The official ones (after Scars of Mirrodin) follow:
Quote
  • Damage dealt to a player by a source without infect causes that player to lose that much life.
  • Damage dealt to a player by a source with infect causes that player to get that many poison counters.
  • Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from that planeswalker.
  • Damage dealt to a creature by a source with wither or infect causes that many -1/-1 counters to be put on that creature.
  • Damage dealt to a creature by a source without wither or infect causes that much damage to remain on that creature.
  • Damage dealt to anything by a source with lifelink causes that source's controller to gain that much life, in addition to whatever other results the damage has.

Here's my modification to the damage results based on the keyword mechanic called vandalism. Remove the first one in the list above, and add the following ones:
Quote
  • Damage dealt to a player by a source without infect, vandalism, or mindflay causes that player to lose that much life.
  • Damage dealt to a player by a source with vandalism N or mindflay N causes that player to displace N cards for each damage. (To displace a card, put the top card of your library into the graveyard.)
  • Damage dealt to a creature with painlink is also dealt to the source's controller.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2010, 04:00:27 PM by Den »

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Summoning Sickness => Lag
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2009, 02:42:13 PM »
Summoning Sickness => Lag

The rules only informally acknowledge the existence of 'summoning sickness', however, that term aren't seen on cards except in reminder text. Thus, I made an effort to redefine what it means to "be affected by summoning sickness." Furthermore, this redefinition will allow this condition to be recognized like tapping and untapping. However, this will change the haste ability slightly; on the other hand, haste doesn't need to appear as often. Generally, any effect that grants temporary haste simply says the creature comes under your control unlagged.

Quote
Status
A permanent's status is its physical state. There are N status categories, each of which has two possible values: tapped/untapped, lagged/unlagged, flipped/unflipped, face up/face down, and phased in/phased out. Each permanent always has one of these values for each of these categories.
     Status is not a characteristic, though it may affect a permanent's characteristics.
     Permanents come into play untapped, lagged, unflipped, face up, and phased in unless a spell or ability says otherwise.

Lag
A. Permanents without haste come under a player's control lagged.
B. Permanents with haste come under a player's control unlagged.
C. During a player's untap step, permanents he or she controls unlag.
D. Lagged creatures can't attack or activate abilities with the :mt or :mq symbol unless another ability allows it (such as ninjutsu).
E. Non-creature permanents can activate abilities with the :mt or :mq symbol regardless if they are lagged or unlagged. However, if they turn into creatures, then rule D still applies as long as they are lagged.
F. The lag symbol L in an activation cost means "Lag this permanent" -- a permanent that's already lagged can't be lagged again to pay the cost.
G. The unlag symbol J in an activation cost means "Unlag this permanent" -- a permanent that's already unlagged can't be unlagged again to pay the cost.

Note that each status indicates a physical state. Lag is different from other statuses in that it provides no inherent indication that a permanent is lagged or unlagged. So I suggest that for paper Magic, lagged and unlagged permanents are separated on the table. For Magic-related software, one can use more creative ways to indicate a permanent's lag status, such as giving lagged creatures red borders.

Rewording other abilities using the lag technology:
Quote
502.5. Haste

502.5a Haste is a replacement ability.

502.5b A permanent with haste comes under a player's control unlagged.

502.5c Multiple instances of haste on the same permanent are redundant.

Quote
Phasing

A permanent phases in unlagged. This applies even if that permanent phased out and phased back in the turn it came into play.

Quote
502.84. Unearth

502.84a [snip] "Unearth [cost]" means "[Cost]: Return this card from your graveyard to play unlagged. [snip]"

Quote
502.59. Suspend

502.59a [snip] If you play a creature spell this way, it comes into play unlagged."

Examples of cards using lag terminology:
Quote
Many cards similar to Threaten that grant temporary haste will get errata that says the creature enters play unlagged.

Threaten

Sorcery
Gain control of target creature until end of turn. That creature comes under your control untapped and unlagged.

Unnatural Speed

Instant - Arcane
Unlag target creature.

Apnea

Instant
Choose target creature. If it is lagged, destroy it. If not, lag it.

Tired Out

Instant
Lag all creatures target player controls. (They unlag during their controller's next untap step.)

Lag fest

Enchantment - Aura
Enchant creature
When ~ enters the field, lag enchanted creature.
Enchanted creature doesn't unlag as normal during its controller's untap step.

Laggard Elf

Creature - Elf
, Lag: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.
, Lag: Add to your mana pool.
1/1
« Last Edit: March 04, 2015, 12:46:36 AM by Den »

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Return to hand => Withdraw
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2009, 02:43:01 PM »
Return to hand => Withdraw

Being such a common ability and cost payment, a keyword action must be created for the action "returning an object in the battlefield to its owner's hand." I shall call this action "withdraw".

Quote
501.11. Withdraw

501.11a To withdraw an object, move it from the battlefield into its owner's hand.

Rewording existing cards:

Quote
Unsummon

Instant
Withdraw target creature.

Floodbringer

Creature - Moonfolk Wizard
Flying
:m2, Withdraw a land you control: Tap target land.
1/2

Azorius Aethermage

Creature - Human Wizard
Whenever a permanent is withdrawn to your hand, you may pay . If you do, draw a card.
1/1
« Last Edit: July 03, 2009, 02:45:58 PM by Den »

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Subtype Ability
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2009, 02:43:24 PM »
Subtype Ability

An ability from a source with subtypes is called <subtypes> ability.

Examples:
Quote
Elf activated abilities cost more to play.

Counter target Goblin spell or activated or triggered ability.


Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Removing targets from Auras and Equipments
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2011, 05:31:14 PM »
There's no reason for Aura spells and Equip abilities to target. Let's change the rules to remedy that.

Current rules state:
Quote
114.1b Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura's target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, "Enchant"). The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. An Aura permanent doesn't target anything; only the spell is targeted. (An activated or triggered ability of an Aura permanent can also be targeted.)

Modify rules as such:
Quote
114.1b As the last step to resolving Aura spells, as it enters the battlefield, attach it to target specified by its enchant keyword ability.

Aura spells only target after it has entered the battlefield. Only then does it target, and that's only so that creatures with shroud can't be enchanted by auras.

With this modification, we can easily make a Living Aura analog to Living Weapons.

Quote
702.LIV. Living Aura

702.LIVa Living aura is an alternative cost and replacement ability. "Living aura [cost]" means "You may play this card by paying [cost] rather than pay its mana cost." and "As this Aura enters the battlefield, if its Living aura cost was paid, you may put a 0/0 colorless spirit creature token onto the battlefield. If you do, attach this Aura to it."



On the other hand, since you can only equip on your own creatures, there's no good reason that creatures with shroud can't wield equipments. Thus, change it so that creatures with shroud can be able to hold weapons and shields.

Current rules state:
Quote
702.6a Equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards. "Equip [cost]" means "[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery."

Modify rules as such:
Quote
702.6a Equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards. "Equip [cost]" means "[Cost]: As you activate this ability, choose a creature you control. Attach this to the chosen creature.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2011, 11:44:49 PM by Den »

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Universal creature types
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2011, 07:56:17 PM »
To further fnord's point, the Tribal label puts a psychological burden and restraint on R&D. In a sense, it exerts too much influence on tribal cards even when they just want them casually. In Innistrad they wanted tribal cards just for flavor. But the Tribal label sticks out like a sore thumb. Even in this block where tribal is a prominent hook, they decided to omit Tribal cards altogether.

Without that label, the tribal cards look less intimidating when the main emphasis of the block or set is not on tribes. You can sneak in a few of them in many sets and blocks without drawing attention to them--not unlike multicolor cards into monocolor blocks.

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Damageable
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2011, 09:40:44 PM »
Damageable is a category that refers to objects that can be dealt damaged. These include creatures, planeswalkers, locales, and players. When you choose or target a damageable, any of these objects are legal.

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Re: Official Rules -- Improved and Modified
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2012, 05:16:54 PM »
Keyword action: Assemble

When an object assembles N, put an N token under its controller's control.

e.g. This creatures assembles a Contraption. By definition Contraption is an artifact subtype. IOW put a Contraption artifact token onto the battlefield.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2013, 02:33:19 PM by Den »

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Contraptions
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2013, 02:38:34 PM »
Contraptions Re-imagined

My concept of Contraptions is an evolution of flip cards and level up cards. A Contraption changes form via assembly or disassembly.

Assemble is a keyword action, like tap, that changes a card's state from disassembled to assembled. All permanents enter the battlefield assembled, except Contraptions come in disassembled.

Contraption cards look like leveler cards in that the text box is partitioned to denote the card's current assemble state. The disassembled state may be indicated, for instance, by the O symbol and assembled state by | symbol (like off/on symbols on electronic devices.) A contraption card's rules text in either the disassembled or assembled box only applies while that card is in the appropriate state. Rules outside of both boxes are always in effect.

Contraptions usually come with the keyword ability Assembly. "Assembly <cost>" means "<cost>: Assemble this. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery and only if this is disassembled." This ability is always in effect since it is generally placed outside the disassembled/assembled rules boxes.

Example cards

Mox Contraption

Artifact - Contraption
Assembly
O > : Add to your mana pool.
| > : Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.

Howling Cave

Artifact - Contraption
Assembly
O > At the beginning of each player's draw step, that player draws an additional card.
| > , : Draw a card.

Roobix Cube

Artifact - Contraption Equipment
Assembly , Equip
O > Equipped creature gets +1/+0.
| > Equipped creature gets +1/+0 and gains "Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, you may draw a card."

Jinxed Contraption

Artifact - Contraption
At the beginning of your end step, target opponent gains control of ~.
Assembly
O > At the beginning of your upkeep, ~ deals 1 damage to you.
| > At the beginning of your upkeep, ~  deals 3 damage to you.

Junk Contraption

Artifact - Contraption
Assembly
O > Creatures you control get -1/-0.
| > Disassemble: Creatures you control get +2/+0 until end of turn.

Contraption Juggernaut

Artifact Creature - Contraption Juggernaut
Assembly
O > 1/3
| > ~ attacks each turn if able and can't be blocked by Walls. 5/3

Contraption Gnome

Artifact Creature - Contraption Gnome
Assembly
O > 1/1
| > When ~ becomes assembled, you gain 3 life. 2/2

Contraption Skeleton

Artifact Creature - Contraption Skeleton
Assembly
O > 1/2
| > If ~ would be destroyed, instead remove all damage marked on it and disassemble it. 2/3

Other cards may assemble or disassemble Contraptions. For example

Novice Rigger

Creature - Goblin Rigger
, : Assemble a Contraption you control.
3/2

Esteemed Rigger

Creature - Human Rigger
When ~ enters the battlefield, for each Contraption you control, you may assemble it.
3/4

Fast-Trigger Rigger

Creature - Goblin Rigger
Haste
When ~ enters the battlefield, you may assemble a Contraption you control.
2/1

Spoiler:
Before you say creatures can't assemble, and thus won't interact with Steamflogger Boss, see Karmic Justice, which implies that spells and abilities can destroy, even though their effects don't explicitly state as such. For instance, Murder says simply "Destroy target creature" not "Murder destroys target creature." Likewise for all destruction effects. However, we know that they all interact with Karmic Justice even without direct action. In other words, Murder itself doesn't destroy a creature; it instructs you the player to destroy a creature. Yet it still triggers Karmic Justice even though it didn't directly do the destroying.

Likewise, Steamflogger Boss is only asking whether the source of the effect directing a player to assemble a Contraption comes from a Rigger (permanent) you control.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2015, 09:09:43 PM by Den »

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Suspend Inverse
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2015, 11:45:28 PM »
"Suspend -N -- <less cost>" means for each <less cost> you don't pay from mana cost, exile this card from your hand with N time counters.

ex.

Suspend -1 --

your options:
pay 3u, cast right away
pay 2u, suspend with 1 time counter
pay 1u, suspend with 2 time counters
pay u, suspend with 3 time counters

ex.

Suspend -2 --

your options:
pay 3u, cast right away
pay 2u, suspend with 2 time counter
pay 1u, suspend with 4 time counters
pay u, suspend with 6 time counters
« Last Edit: October 14, 2015, 11:48:31 PM by Den »

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Deck size
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2016, 02:49:52 AM »
New deck size for both constructed and limited

45 cards minimum, 3 of each card maximum except basic lands

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Mana system
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2016, 09:40:42 PM »
Issues and solutions to Magic's mana system.

Issue #1:
Inconsistent mana draws. Not enough lands or too many lands.


Issue #2:
Lands only make mana.


Issue #3:
Lands are too precious. Land destruction is discouraged.

Solutions:

Make lands optional.
Turn lands into strategic terrains that interact with creatures.
Find new way to get mana.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2016, 12:30:47 PM by Den »

Den

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 895
  • Selina is my Superstar
    • View Profile
    • Amuseum
Re: Official Rules -- Improved and Modified
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2016, 04:35:43 AM »
Sorcerous before an activated ability means "activate this ability only any time you can cast a sorcery."

Ex.

Sorcerous-- :mt : Target player discards a card.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2016, 04:39:55 AM by Den »